Brainwashing 101

Today I am officially beginning my venture into helping you wash your brain.  🙂  This is very delicate work, and if you’re anything at all like me, it’s quite likely to really irritate you.

I found as the Lord began to show me things in the Word that I had thought were true – which really weren’t backed up by the Word –  I got angry.  I was angry that I had believed something that was not true.  I was angry that someone had fed me the lie.  I was angry for all the lost possibilities believing such a thing caused me.  I was also angry when faced with something that I really, really, really believed with all my heart, but couldn’t back up Scripturally.  That was especially annoying.  😛

I have built up a list of those things that needed to be washed from my mind and replaced with Truth, and if you’re truly brave enough to come along with me on this trip, I would love to share them with you.  My hope is not that you would accept the things I share hook, line and sinker, but that you’d go Berean on me and search the Scriptures every day to see if what I say is true.  🙂   (Acts 17:11)

You see, I’m totally convinced that by doing this one thing – by searching the Scriptures to see if our previously held beliefs match up to the Word of the Living God, that we will be set free from the traditions of men and step into a whole new realm of relationship with our Father – one based in truth and not in presumption.

For our trip you’re going to need to pack a few things.  🙂  First and foremost, you’re going to need your Bible.  Secondly, a journal of some kind.  (Read: 70 pg theme book at my house)    😛  and a pen to record the verses I share with you and the process that the Holy Spirit takes you on.  This journey will become precious to you – and by recording it, you will be able to go back and read what Father has done in your heart. Last, but not least, a heart that desires to know more of our Lord and of His ways – and less of the clutter that keeps us from embracing Him and walking intimately with Him.

I expect that we will disagree – and that’s okay.  🙂  I have spent the better part of a year aggressively going after these things. They are truth as best I understand it.  If you disagree with me, tell me why.  I’m not afraid of being challenged on these ideas.  I just need you to back up your position with the Word.

You see, last spring the bottom fell out of everything that we thought we were to be doing.  Everything that I thought I knew/understood about what the Lord wanted us doing/from us collapsed.  There was nothing that seemed like safe ground.  I desperately needed something safe to stand on, that would not shift under my feet.  I remember clearly sitting in my back yard and crying out to the Lord, “Father, I thought we were doing all that You have asked of us – why is everything falling through?  What are we doing wrong?  What can I trust now?  Lord, what is safe for me?”

As quickly as I asked, I heard the words, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but MY WORDS will last forever.”  Now, that isn’t the correct quotation of that verse (or verses, as the case may be), but it was exactly what I needed to hear.  From that point on, I decided it was time to make my brain line up with the Word of God.  If God’s Word would stand forever, no matter what else stood or fell, then it was EXACTLY what I needed to stand upon.  And it still is.

So, if you’re ready, let’s get going!!

“All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness,”  2 Timothy 3:16.  Write this in your journal and read it out loud.  (Trust me on this one.)  🙂

So, do you REALLY believe that the Word of God is just that – God’s Word?  Is it settled in your heart that His Word comes from His mouth?  Do you really believe that you can stand on it and that it is applicable to your life today?  Why or why not?  You don’t have to answer this here – just record it in your journal.  Ask the Holy Spirit to show you the true state of your heart in this area.

(Side note:  We all know the right religious answers.  If you really want to wash your brain from wrong thinking, then you’re going to have to get past the religious stuff and get straight to the REAL stuff.  What is truly in your heart?  Only then will you be able to wash away what is holding you back from entering into a deeper relationship with Father and understand what it means to be a child of God.)

As we take in the  Truth, it will change how we think and that is vital, because our thoughts determine our words (Luke 6:45 “…for his mouth speaks from that which fills his heart.”)  and our actions.   Because filling yourself with Truth will change you, from the inside out, you need to expect opposition.  🙂  Them’s the facts, Darlin’.  We haven’t been sick in ages and last Friday I got sick like I haven’t been sick in probably 10 years.  Coincidence?  I think not.  🙂  Know that the battles will come, know that Jesus has already obtained victory for you and keep pressing in.  This WILL change your life.

Comments
3 Responses to “Brainwashing 101”
  1. javadawn says:

    The assumption, is of course, that I have not perfected this stuff, right? Just that I’m a fellow sojourner who would love to share with you what I’ve found…you DO get that, right?!!! Okay – WHEW! 🙂

  2. reneegrace says:

    hey there… 🙂 i bookmarked this for myself so I could read it later… and I here I finally am. Not sure how much I’ll be along, but after finally digesting the Food Pyramid post, which I also bookmarked!, its good to be here with you! 🙂 I may not comment much… I’m HOPING to go into labor tonight (been hoping that for the three PREVIOUS nights as well…) so we’ll see!

  3. javadawn says:

    Renee, when I saw your name, I thought “Why is that Girl doing ANYTHING but practicing her breathing?!!” 😀

    Go have that WONDERFUL AMAZING BABY!!! 🙂 🙂 You can catch up when time allows. The Holy Spirit is always gracious to impart what we are ready for. (And sometimes that means what we are ready for, TIMEWISE!)

    PS “Digesting” a food pyramid. Great pun, whether it was intended or not. 😛

Leave a Reply

