Brainwashing Day 7

Have you ever had a mouse in your house?  Growing up, we lived in the country with cornfields on all four sides of our house.  (Granted, there was a road out front, as well.)

Keeping our home was neither my Mom’s passion nor her talent.  She didn’t like it one stinking bit.  In fact, I would say that many days she resented that this was a part of her job description.  Because of that our home would not have passed the white glove test.  (If you could have run your gloved finger on any surface and not have the sticky surface pull your glove right off, I’d be surprised.)    😛

Messy house + country location + fall = MICE!!!!  Now to say that the mice had a travel agent who pre-booked their stay, is likely an understatement.  Our home had to have been THE fall travel destination of choice.  At the first frost, it was as though somewhere a little red mousie carpet was rolled out.  We didn’t see the first ones – we saw the residue of their arrival.

That is what you need to learn to watch for in your mind, as well….the residue of the arrival of a lie that is trying to take a hold.  After much prayer, I believe that I can help you identify what lie “droppings” look like.  🙂 

If you have any thought that brings you feelings/thoughts of fear – it’s a lie.  Trap it and destroy it.

If you have any thought that brings you feelings/thoughts of failure – it’s a lie. Trap it and destroy it.

If you have any thought that brings you feelings/thoughts of despair – it’s a lie. Trap it and destroy it.

If you have any thought that brings you feelings/thoughts of depression – it’s a lie.  Trap it and destroy it.

If you have any thought that brings you feelings/thoughts of abandonment – it’s a lie.  Trap it and destroy it.

Those things all belie the character of our Lord – that is why it is imperative that the thought be dealt with promptly.  We daren’t give those thoughts ANY ground. Scripture is clear that we must be attentive and aggressive in protecting our thoughts.

Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flow the springs of life.

Biblically, the word heart is used to mean the center of our thoughts and emotions.  Especially as women, our thoughts impact (direct?!) our emotions.  It’s all the more vital that we deal with those errant thoughts, birthed in lies.

Today, I want you to make a list of the issues that are causing your heart to waver.  I want you to identify ANY of them that cause you to feel fear, failure, depression, despair or abandonment – and dear Sistah, BE AGGRESSIVE in this.  Don’t let pride keep you from calling a thought what it really is.  No one is going to be pointing a finger at you – even if you wrote out a confession in the comments section.  There isn’t ONE of us that hasn’t dealt with one or all of these feelings.

We have been taught that all these feelings are normal and indeed they are – they are the normal response of deceived fleshly hearts.  If we are wanting our brains washed that we might love the Lord more, then we can’t allow ourselves to retain normal deceived fleshly hearts.  That seems so harsh, when I see it in black and white, but I can assure you, my heart’s desire is that you would be set free! Jesus was anointed to set the captives free.  He has given us His job to continue here on earth.  I can’t tell you how my heart longs to see Believers set free from the lies that have been foisted upon them…by the enemy, by the world, by the church.

Yet a time is coming and has now come when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for they are the kind of worshipers the Father seeks. God is spirit, and His worshipers must worship in spirit and in truth.”  (Sorry – NIV, rather than NASB)

May we be the kind of worshipers that the Father seeks!

Comments
9 Responses to “Brainwashing Day 7”
  1. javadawn says:

    I just want to clarify that I am not casting aspersions on my Mom’s character. She was incredibly gifted and talented in many artsy type things. I think she found the necessity of house keeping to be far too mundane and lacking in creativity. 🙂 🙂

    Keep in mind, this is the same Mom who painted our front door RASPBERRY pink, when all the world had white and black doors. 😀 She is also the Mom who would get bored with the kitchen colors and I’d come home from school to find the kitchen was now lime green and orange. (Think 70’s people!) 😀

    She also made the most incredible French seams (even in sleeves) on everything that she sewed – which was TONS! She made everything from curtains to wedding dresses. She was an amazing, creative woman who simply felt trapped by the minutiae of doing laundry, washing dishes et al. (I think the fact that both her mother and her sister LOVED keeping an exceptionally (!!) tidy house also added to that feeling.)

    Thanks – just wanted to clarify. 🙂

  2. Kristine says:

    Good words, Dawn. I appreciate you being specific in what ‘residue’ to look for.

    Setting out my lie trap now.

  3. javadawn says:

    You know Kristine, even knowing what to look for, I still find it hard to catch every one of those little seeds of deception. Man! We have become SO accustomed to thinking even little things that don’t seem to mean much, but when we look at what they really are saying about God, we see they need to be exterminated!!! (Do I sound like a Dalek, now?) 😀

  4. Holly says:

    I can relate to your mom. 🙂 I hate housekeeping. We do it…but I don’t enjoy it. I’d much rather create. 🙂

  5. javadawn says:

    Hmmm, your words, Holly Belle are a little suspect by me. 🙂 You don’t hate housekeeping. You derive too much joy in serving your family for me to buy it. 😛 😀

    Now, the creative part, THAT I don’t doubt one bit! You are incredibly creative!!! (I SO wish Kristine would post the quilt she made – she dyed her own fabric… you would L.O.V.E. it! It was breathtaking!!! When you’re back in our area, I should connect the two of you.) 🙂

  6. Kristine says:

    I’m glad you like it. Just how exactly would I post a picture of my quilt?

  7. javadawn says:

    I’m beyond too tired to figure this out tonight. I’ll ask Danica tomorrow and see what she can come up with for me. 🙂

  8. Jennifer says:

    Whoa…..I’ve just written down 4 or 5 things that I have fear or failure in, and it pretty much covers my life! Sheeze…..how depressing is that….pun intended! ;P LOL Now I have to figure out what the specific lies are.

    BTW – While housework is a long way from what I consider enjoyable, when I think of the alternative of working OUTSIDE my home, I find my enthusiasm for it is much greater! 🙂 But as for the white glove stuff….better pocket it I figure I don’t run a military post!! ;P

  9. javadawn says:

    Jen, SEE??? Those lies are so stinking sneaky. Out of nowhere I find that they’re residing in me. It’s really rawther annoying. 🙂

    Man, I was hoping to come over this weekend, white glove in hand and check things out. Maybe I could just come for some java and some of your AMAZING cinnamon rolls, instead. 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

