Brainwashing Day 9

I am a word addict. I love words.  I can’t seem to help myself.

There are some books I read for content, some books I read for fun and some books I read simply because I love the pictures that they paint with their words.

If you ever read a book after me, you will find that I am an active reader.  I consider all books friends waiting to be written in and discussed.  You will find that I write notes to the author of the book in the margins, not to mention covering it in highlighter.  (I am a very messy reader.  Some people read books and they look pristine when they are done.  I say, books are meant to be enjoyed like the first grilled hamburger of the summer – with gusto – and if you have to use a napkin or two when you’re done, so much the better!)   🙂

One of my favorite notations in a book is a small “w/s”.  I use it to indicate the skill of the author at word wielding.  (It stands for wordsmith, btw.)  That is high praise indeed in my book.  (No pun intended, HONEST!)

Such a note means that whatever words the author employed captured my heart in a very visceral way.  Words that create vivid pictures, words that call forth emotion, words that I feel as much as I read deserve to be honored as much as any other artwork.

It takes no less skill to make a word create the rich colors of a beautiful paragraph than it does a weaver – or a musician – or a woodworker.  They all take the tools of their craft, combine it with the gifts that the Holy Spirit has placed in them and create something….amazing.

With that in mind, I guess it’s really no wonder that I love the Word.  I love reading it for its beauty and I love reading it for its rhythm.  I love reading it for the people that it makes so real and I love reading it for the absolute sheer enjoyment of it.

In the recent past, however, I find that I love reading it for another reason.  I love reading it for the power that it places in my hands.

Today is another day of foundational work (Trust me on this okay? It’s really, really helpful to have a solid foundation before we hit the hard stuff.)  that is vitally important on so many levels.

I want you to know that I do not believe that the Word of God contains truth.

Are you surprised?  Angry?  In agreement?  Take a moment and figure out how you feel about that statement – on an emotional and totally intrinsic level. It is important that you deal with this.  Nothing that we discuss from here on out will hold any water with you, if you don’t know exactly where you stand on the validity and authority of the Word.

Now, that you have done that, let me clarify my statement.  I do not believe that the Word of God contains truth.  I believe that it IS truth.  That is a very, very vital clarification.  I know a lot of Believers that believe that the Word contains truth – some truth – just not all truth.  If we do not have a standard from which to determine truth, then you have nothing to stand on.

I have shared with  you that the biggest changes we’ve gone through in these last few years happened when I asked the Lord for something that was stable and would not change.  He directed me to His Word.

Write this verse in your journal, they are the words of Joshua.

“Now behold, today I am going the way of all the earth, and you know in all your hearts and in all your souls that not one word of all the good words which the Lord your God spoke concerning you has failed; all have been fulfilled for you, not one of them has failed.”

I want you to look at it.  I want you to smile at it.  I want you to dance with it for a little while and then I want you to determine in your heart that this will be your confession as well.  When that happens, when you can say that you know in your heart and in your soul that not one of all the good words which the Lord your God spoke concerning you – or anyone else – has failed – or will fail, then you’re ready to go on.

If you can’t say that yet, allow the Holy Spirit to continue His sweet work in your heart.  Allow Him to woo you.  Allow Him to make His Word come alive in your heart, because once it does, you will be unstoppable!

Leave a Reply

