Brainwashing Day 10

I shared with you that what started me on this new journey with the Lord was the day that I was crying out to Him asking for something that I could stand on, that I could trust would not change.  Both quickly and sweetly, I heard the Holy Spirit say, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My Word will stand forever.”

What I didn’t share was the process that took place from there….because just as fast as I heard the Holy Spirit whisper that to my soul, I thought of Jesus, while He was being tempted, “Man shall not live on bread alone, BUT on every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.”

For some reason that verse hit me differently that day – I mean, I really, really, really read it.  It said that we should LIVE ON EVERY WORD THAT PROCEEDS FROM GOD’S MOUTH.

I had heard/read that so many times that, for me, I had allowed my soul to be dulled to it.  It held no power.  It held no instruction.  It held no command.  They were just words.  However, that day it was different.  This time I got it.  I really truly got it.  Jesus said I was to live on every Word that proceeded from God’s mouth.  Jesus said it!  J.E.S.U.S. the Christ.  The Savior.  The One from, through and to whom all things flow.  The only One worthy to open the scroll, Jesus.  THAT Jesus.  If He said I was to live on every word that proceeded from God’s mouth, then I’d better know what those words were.  And fast!

So, I pulled out my handy dandy concordance (Okay, that’s not true – my concordance is a big ole clunky chunky lugabout of a book.  There is nothing handy about it.  Dandy – I will give you hands down, but no handy.)  and looked up “shall live.”  If I was to live on every word that proceeded from God’s mouth, I wanted to know how He said I “shall live.” What I found surprised me.

I learned that it was declared that Rahab “shall live” because she hid the messengers.   (Joshua 6:17)

I learned that he who listens to wisdom “shall live” securely.    (Proverbs 1:33)

I learned that the righteous shall live by faith.    (Habakkuk 2:4)

Now, being a student of Kay Arthur, I knew that verse.  She drilled it into us.  But, you see, somehow I read it like this:  The RIGHTEOUS shall live by faith.   It was like a declaration about the righteous, in my mind.  (And no, I hadn’t made the connection that I was part of “the righteous” – that statement seemed very nebulous and…distant from me.  I’m sad to make such a confession, but I suspect I’m not alone.)  Never before had I read that to read, “Dawn, you have been made righteous, NOW GET YOUR BOOT IN GEAR AND LIVE BY FAITH!”  And that IS how I read it this day.

But, since I was only at Habakkuk, I wanted to get all the way through Revelation.  Know what I found?

I learned that the righteous better get their boots in gear and live by faith.  🙂  Romans 1:17, Galatians 3:11,  basically all of  Romans 4 and Romans 9:30 all say the same thing.  Then I came to Hebrews 10:38.  Have you read it recently?  Do it.  I’ll wait – go ahead, pick up your own Bible and read it.  (Seriously.  You need to see that this really is in YOUR Bible.)  🙂

“And if he shrinks back, My soul has no pleasure in him.”  Gulp.  That sounds like He’s serious about this, doesn’t it?  No pleasure?  We’re the Church that has been talking about being told “Well done good and faithful servant” for as long as I can remember.  Why had no one said, “Hey, Dawn, good and faithful servant is a worthy goal, but are you aware that if you do not live by faith – if you shrink back from it – that God’s soul will have no pleasure in you?”  Of course, as I read that I immediately thought of, “Without faith, it’s impossible to please God.”

Whoa!!!  As our neighbor says when we try to talk Spiritual concepts with him, “That’s deep.”  😛  🙂   (He always says that before his eyes glaze over.)    😀

So, for our final day of foundational work, I want you to write everything you believe about faith.  And what your response to Hebrews 10:38 and Hebrews 11:6.

This will likely be your hardest project thus far.  I have found it very difficult to capture the understanding I have of faith and turn it into something tangible.  Do the best you can.  I promise, no one is grading you on this.  All that I’ve asked you to do – all of this is for your own benefit.  Honest.  More than anything I want to help you please the soul of our Lord.

Leave a Reply

