Brainwashing Day 11(kind of)

I made a brilliant discovery yesterday.  B.R.I.L.L.I.A.N.T.

My computer functions better with electricity.  😛

Sorry for the delay in our latest Brainwashing post.  Yesterday morning, when I had the available time to post, (we had a MAJOR project for a client that required my entire day – like 7:30 am to 10:30 pm…)  we had no electricity.

So, to offer a quick review – our neighbors got busted for meth on Friday, the man of the family got busted in a neighboring city early Friday morning and there was a second meth bust Friday in that city (coincidence?  They don’t seem to think so)  Then on Sunday, our town had a fire that required neighboring fire departments for assistance.  Monday, a good chunk of the town lost power.  Hey, our little hick town is just jumping with activity.  😀

Let’s get back to faith.

When the Lord impressed upon me my need to know and understand and operate in faith, I grabbed up my unhandy-yet-so-very-dandy concordance and headed out for some time with the Lord…and the word faith. 

I spent an entire day taking down notes for every use of the word faith, hoping that it would suddenly become incredibly clear to me. It did not.  Neither did it, thankfully, dissuade me from my appointed task.  I knew that if I wanted to please God I needed to “get” this.

I remember sitting there, pages of notes, confused all the more, yet KNOWING that this is something that I wanted.  Something I wanted more than anything else I had come up against in my love walk with Christ.  I remember it was getting dark and I was sitting in my own little corner in my own little porch 🙂  and shouting “Look out Your back door, Lord.  Look at the path coming up to it, because that is where I will be found!  I WILL get this.”

(This was not a statement of defiance or “in-Your-holy-faceness”  this was a statement of passion and determination that I would, despite everything that seemingly wanted to keep me from it, I WOULD find my answers and I WOULD be a woman that pleased my Lord.)

The next day I decided to take my notes and begin with what faith was.  Faith is…..

I knew of course, Hebrews 11:1 – “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction (or evidence)  of things not seen.”  However, at the risk of sounding like a dope, that definition didn’t help me much. That seemed like something that needed to be prayed over and meditated on a bit more.

What else came under “faith is” ??  Whoa…”whatever is not from faith is sin.”  (Romans 14:23)  That was pretty straightforward.  That didn’t require more time for meditation.  Yikes.

Hmmm….. faith is made void and the promise is nullified if those who are of the Law are heirs. (Romans 4:14)   Well, that pretty much made sense.   It meant that if we could have been made heirs of Christ Jesus through the Law, there would have been no need of God promising His only begotten Son. BUT in fact, it IS needed because the Law can’t accomplish that.  And we can’t become heirs of Christ, without accepting Him by faith, so faith would be unnecessary.

That was one clue….but still no clear picture of what faith IS.

So, before I tried to fully understand what faith was, I decided my better bet was to see how to get faith.

Faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of Christ (Romans 10:17), was the first thing that came to my mind, but I went ahead and searched for more “faith comes” verses.

You know what?  There weren’t any.  Not one.  Nor were there any under “obtain faith”,  “get faith”, “build faith”, “create faith” or “grow faith.”

That meant that the only place I could find a description of how to get faith came from one verse. There was one thing that I could do.  Hear the Word of Christ. (or God)  What did that mean…really?  I had several thoughts, but I wanted to hear from the Lord.

SO, I took some time out and I prayed about it.  I would like to encourage you to do the same.

This is where praying Ephesians 1:17-19b is VERY helpful.  Ask God to give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation.  He wrote the Word.  He knows BEST what it means.  Ask Him to show you.  James says that if we lack wisdom, all we need to do is ask (and have the faith to believe that He will answer us.)  😛

So, for your journal recording today, please record what you believe Romans 10:17 to mean.

(I will post Day 12 later today, so you have time to do this project, before I throw another one at you.)  🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “Brainwashing Day 11(kind of)”
  1. Kristine says:

    An interesting note here: I looked up several ‘faith’ verses in The Jewish Bible. It does not use the word ‘faith’. Instead the words ‘trust’ and ‘trusting’ are used.

  2. javadawn says:

    That is interesting. Do you have a thought as to why they would interpret it that way?

    I guess in my mind trust is a part of faith, but to me faith seems much richer, more powerful, more fraught with promise and more magnificent than trust. It’s like comparing turquoise to opals. 🙂 I love the blue of turquoise, but opals have depth of color and vibrancy that the turquoise lacks.

    *shrugs*

    What can I say, I’ve just finished working for the day and it’s after 11. (the day started at 5:15 ugh) Youse gets what is left at this hour of the night. 😀

Leave a Reply

