Tripping over my own self

Some people are naturally nimble.  Tripping over their own two feet doesn’t EVER happen to them.  They walk through life, adroitly, never even considering the possibility that they might trip, let alone actually doing it!

I, on other hand, am not generally someone of that ilk.  I am the person that, wearing a BRILLIANTLY red dress, stepped on a piece of lettuce on the stairs in a restaurant, slipped and slid down the stairs, causing my then-date-soon-to-be-husband to do the only thing he could – lift his leg, so I could slide through and land in a red pile at the bottom of the stairs.  (Red face, red shoes, red body, red dress.  Yep, definitely a pile o’ red!)

So, I guess it shouldn’t come as any surprise, that as I take the situation in Haiti to my prayer closet – to mull over – to cry out to Him – to seek my Father’s face, I find myself tripping over my own self.

Romans 8:18-22 keeps showing up in the midst of these times of prayer and it’s these:  “For the anxious longing of the creation waits eagerly for the revealing of the sons of God.”  That cause me to stumble.

Because, that’s me – that’s us!  The Sons of God.  Know what my Bible says about that?  It says, “the term “sons” is a legal term indicating the position of a son – either through adoption or inheritance – that indicates the privileges, obligations and inheritance rights of said son.”

Creation – certainly Haiti – is anxiously longing for me to reveal myself as a son of God – so Holy Spirit, rather than continuing to trip,  as a son, Father, what is my obligation in this hour?!  I ask that You would lead and direct me, so that I might walk in a way worthy of my position.

Leave a Reply

