It’s Not Black or White…..

I grew up being told by our pastor that we couldn’t straddle the fence.  The funny thing is, 30 some years on the other side of that teaching, I don’t think he ever really grasped the fullness of what he was teaching.  I understood that to mean, we couldn’t be Christians and still keep living like those who are not.

In Deut. 30:19 God says, “I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing: therefore choose life, that both thou and thy seed may live:”  Choose life.

The depth of this is staggering to me.  First of all, the entire concept that we have the authority to make such a choice is mind boggling. I have to wonder if there are many things that I *should* have been/be making choices about that I have not.  I have to wonder, how many times has the enemy done his best to convince me that there were no choices to be made here, but rather that I was nothing more than a victim.

Fascinating isn’t it?  When we read what Adam did in the Garden, when presented with the serpent offering the fruit to the woman, we don’t read of him doing anything.  That’s always surprised me – why would he simply stand by and allow someone to convince his wife of something that he knew was a lie. Is it because the enemy blinded him to his choices?

This earth, ever since that moment has been functioning under the law of sin and death.  That one choice was a choice of death.  Death of spiritual life, death of relationship with Father, death of his heavenly authority.  Death.  He chose death.

We are told that things, when left to themselves are always spinning into a state of inevitable and steady deterioration.  Entropy.  Death.  Ephesians 2 tells us that the children of disobedience walk in accordance to the prince of the power of the air.  That means that because of Adam’s treason, the law of sin and death settled in and has become the standard for our earth. It is the default at work in our land.

We know that Jesus said that He came to destroy the works of the evil one.  That includes the law of sin and death.  As a Believer, I MUST be either black or white on this one.  Either He came and did all that He decreed He had come to do and totally destroyed the plans of the enemy OR I have to choose to believe that was His original plan, but that He was not able to complete what He intended.  I choose life. I will choose to believe that the Lord came and succeeded at destroying the reign of the enemy and hence we have the law of the Spirit of life IN CHRIST JESUS!

With this in mind, this means that I must keep my eyes open – ever attentive to all the choices that are before me.  I will either be the body of my Head, the Lord Jesus Christ, and choose life or I will not.  Things that I have previously thought were issues of no concern or import suddenly hold much greater significance.  Every moment of every day I must choose life.

I must choose life in the words of my mouth.  I must choose life in the thoughts of my mind.  I must choose life in the meditations of my heart.  I must choose life in the use of my time.  I must choose life in the people whose lives I touch.  I must choose to be a vessel of His life.  Just like the vessels that were filled with water, touched by Him and turned to wine, I too, must expect that though I am filled with that which is common, I can be used by Him to be life.

It’s not black and white – it’s life or death. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live and that you may love the Lord your God, listen to His voice, and hold fast to Him. For the LORD is your life…

(posted over at Facebook…pondering as usual.)

Leave a Reply

