One word

The house was still in disarray, as was I – but that was okay – we had plenty of time, because our guests weren’t coming until dinner time.  It was only lunch time.  We had just sat down to our left over tuna salad sandwiches and starting-to-wither carrots when there was a knock at the door.  Our guests stood on our porch, smiling, expecting a warm and sincere welcome.  I could barely croak out “Hello.”  You see, growing up at my house, dinner was supper and lunch was the noon meal.  Growing up at her house, dinner was the noon meal and supper was at night.

Fascinating how understanding  just one word can change things, isn’t it? Remember the other day I was sharing how the Lord has been working on me concerning the men of Matthew 7 – the wise and foolish builders?  This morning, I was studying in Matthew 13 – the parable of the sower.  I read, “Hear then the parable of the sower.  When anyone hears the word of the Kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what has been sown in his heart.”  Hmmm….

I do not want the evil one to come and snatch away what has been sown in my  heart – I want what has been sown in my heart, from the word of the Kingdom, to come and take root and bring forth a great harvest.  But, how can I put a stop to it, if the qualification for the enemy stealing it from me is my understanding – or lack thereof?!!

Growing up in my house, if one lacked understanding, there was one of a few reasons – either one was not intelligent enough to grasp the concept OR one lacked sufficient education to grab a hold of it OR the teacher did a poor job of communicating the information.

Every one of those scenarios leaves me devoid of responsibility…and yet, everyone agrees that we don’t want to allow the enemy to steal the word of the Kingdom from our hearts and we should do all that we can to prevent it from happening.  What was I missing here?

Well, Jesus is teaching, so that eliminates the teacher part. It was quite possible that I wasn’t intelligent enough to comprehend this – but since the words themselves were not complicated, I was going to guess that my lack of education – in this case Biblical knowledge – was the most obvious place to begin.

Haul out the Study Bible and the Strongs and open up the lexicon…..

Guess what?  Understanding (or -eth if you’re KJV) is a blending of several other Greek words which ultimately comes down to pious actions.  There it is again!!  Just like the builders, it’s my action or lack thereof that is going to determine the strength – in this case  – of the foundation of my heart and therefore my life – the word of the Kingdom sown in me.

Action.  One word – a simple word, yet one that is filled with great power.  Isn’t it interesting that this is the word that is used to describe one’s battle history?  (“He was involved in the action in Somalia.”)  Or that it is also used to describe how a gun works?  I’m writing out the definition for the word action.  I will read it and remind myself often what Daniel said, “Those that know their God will display strength and TAKE ACTION! ”

I want to be one of “those.”

Leave a Reply

