How to grow good fruit

“I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”

Abide.  Five letters put together that so adeptly explain how we’re to live with our Lord.  Abide. Noah (uh, Webster, that is) explains it this way: “to be, or exist, to continue; to dwell, to rest, continue, stand firm, or be stationary for anytime indefinitely. To remain steadfast or faithful to; to accept without question.”  (Ouch)

Are you abiding in Him?  I encourage you to join me in John 15,  just to make certain.  The state of your fruit depends upon it.

Pruning tip:  To keep the aphids of life from damaging your fruit, closely examine it and ask yourself, “Do I really believe that I can do nothing apart from Him? Is it reflected in how I live or do I need to do some cutting and pruning?”

Comments
6 Responses to “How to grow good fruit”
  1. Pam in Colorado says:

    So, do you count the pruning to be within the body/mind/spirit or within the realm of our homes/jobs? Should we take all of our belongings and decide if they should be pruned as well, in order to best abide in Him?

  2. javadawn says:

    Hey Miss Pam, You know, I’m pretty much an extremist these days. 😀 I’m of the mindset that (other than people) 😉 anything that keeps me from abiding in Father must go! No matter what that is.

    I’m in this really strange place in life, where every day I find myself drawn to thinking about Daniel and the things that he saw and the things that he experienced, all in the name of the Lord. Then, I think of Isaiah 60 talking about how darkness will over take the people – and I can’t help feeling like we are seeing the cusp of that.(Sadly, that’s ALL I think we’ve seen) As I do that, I find that I keep thinking, “Only by abiding in Him will we stand!”

    Daniel tells us that it was those that KNEW their God – ABIDED with Him – that were strong in the face of great tribulation…not just strong, but did exploits too. Both of those – strength and exploits were dependent upon the KNOWING of their God. I WANT TO KNOW MY GOD and if there is some/anything in the way – yeah, FOR ME, I’m likely to ditch it. :O

    Does that sound heartless? LOL Don’t mean to. 😕

  3. javadawn says:

    Pam I walked away and then got to thinking – I’m not sure I answered your question – did I? 😕

  4. Pam in Colorado says:

    Rest assured there was no real question, just an inquiry to ponder I suppose. I find myself thinking over the things you said as the days go by. I don’t know for sure what I should be doing/keeping… I just know that He is calling us to adopt and my choices of what I keep/purchase.. revolves around that. Since we do not know who and how many yet I try to plan ahead without over doing it. If I end with more than I need, then I will sell or gift the excess. There are days though that I would rather just chuck it all and live with less than a little. 😉

  5. javadawn says:

    Pam, it sounds, my dear, like on the contrary you DO know what you should be doing. Preparing your heart, your home and your mind for the new children that Father has for your family. 🙂

    Sounds like a wonderful vision, if you ask me! 🙂

  6. Pam in Colorado says:

    Yes, I guess you are right. We are preparing for them and praying their hearts are being prepared for us. Much change ahead. 🙂

Leave a Reply

