What have you given up for the Kingdom?

Since we have made the announcement concerning the Bible Study, I have been writing tons! (I had been doing some writing – but mostly intense studying – but now I’m W.R.I.T.I.N.G.!)   🙂

Gathering the verses that focus on the Kingdom is always a delight – just because I love God’s Word – but today, I was really struck by Luke 9.  At the end of the chapter Jesus is talking to a “certain man” who was concerned about giving up burying his father and “another also” who was concerned about the things he needed to do before he could follow Jesus.

This immediately made me think of the Rich Young Ruler.  That young man had lived under Jewish law that required him to give to the poor, he had spent years of his life studying Proverbs so he knew them like he knew his own name. Proverbs 14:21, Proverbs 21:13, Proverbs 22:9,  Proverbs 28:27, Proverbs 29:7, Proverbs 31:20  and the kicker – Proverbs 19:16 & 17.  Those verses alone would be intimately known to him.  YET….

When it came time to act on the Word, all he could see what was he would have to give up for the Kingdom.  Which of course makes me ponder…what have I given up for the Kingdom?  What have you given up for the Kingdom?  I know the answer.

Death.

Comments
2 Responses to “What have you given up for the Kingdom?”
  1. Donna Yoder says:

    Dawn-
    Your writing is communicating so clearly and it is dripping with love for the Father and for your brothers and sisters. It’s beautiful to see the bountiful fruit of your labors and your renewal in Christ. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. javadawn says:

    Thank you, ma’am! I’m most humbled.

Leave a Reply

