Talking to myself

I thought at first he was on the phone – maybe using a Bluetooth or something – but as he drew level with me, I realized, the only person he was talking to was himself.  I kind of giggled.  I’ve been known to do that a time or two.  Usually, not as animatedly as he was, but then again, I usually didn’t walk around wearing two different shoes (usually, I said!) and green plaid shorts with a bright orange and black t’shirt either.   😉

So, imagine my surprise, when doing a study on Psalms, I decided to do a study on the word “meditate” and find that it means to think on all the time, to ponder AND to mumble to oneself, to tell oneself something over and over again.

Whoa, what then, am I meditating?  Am I meditating fear or worry?  Am I meditating my failings?  Am I meditating someone else’s failings?  What am I telling myself over and over?

God calls us to meditate on His Word day and night because He knows how easily we can get the wrong thing caught in our brain (especially us women!!) and it will go around and around and around.  We will tell it to ourselves over and over. We will begin to believe we can’t get that thought out.  That’s a lie.

How do I know?  Because this is what God says, “The peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, Sistahs (okay, brothers), whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.”

Notice, when we meditate on God’s things, we have His peace.  So, what are you talking to yourself about this day?!

Comments
3 Responses to “Talking to myself”
  1. melanie says:

    Hey Dawn,
    Just had to come say Hello! after I got your Javawives email today =)
    INteresting that just this past Sunday we had a ‘guest’ speaker for Sunday school as a wrap-up of a summer book study (longer story)… And he at one point mentioned “meditating” as NOT the ‘float on the water without a care for the dam nearby’ type of thing we imagine it to be, but that it is *work* to focus our attention on Truth and keep it there. Or something like that.

    Make sense? I’m in a ramble of a mood after being home ALONE all morning for the first time in a long time 😉

    At any rate, good to touch base with you again ~♥~

    In Christ,
    Melanie

  2. melanie says:

    And, possibly to more answer your question…
    Trying to think/live with gratitude to God for all things ~ and the joy & peace He alone can give.

    ~m

  3. javadawn says:

    Hey Miss Melanie!!! It’s SO good to see you again! 🙂 🙂 I pray all is well with you and your wonderful family. 🙂

    When I began looking into what it meant to meditate, as Psalms kept talking about, I remember being SO surprised! Being a good Bible student, 😛 I followed the law of first mention and went to go look up it’s first use…it was to Joshua! It was what God told Joshua to do before taking the Promised Land! (The Hebrews do not translate what Isaac was doing in Gen 24 as meditate – they translate it “muse” so I didn’t consider that “first use”) 🙂

    I figured if God was telling Joshua to do it at such a critical juncture in time, there had to be some merit to it…significant merit to it!! Isn’t it just like the devil to take what good things the Father has given us and pervert it, so that the very thing God intended to serve HIS people, we have all steered clear of, because of its gaggy connotations!!

    I agree with your speaker, I think it’s HARD WORK to keep our thoughts wholly focused on Truth. H.A.R.D. It’s hard to keep bringing my thoughts back and thinking, “Whoa, that doesn’t line up with the Word,” or suddenly I’m thinking about some worry of life in the here and now…or…or….or. When I first getting serious about this, I would go to bed with my head literally aching – and totally exhausted.

    I am rejoicing with you that you have already been working to keep your mind lined up with the Word!! GOOD GIRL! 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

