Final Grade

I clearly remember the day.  I was on the phone with my friend Karen – crying, certain that I’d totally ruined my children and that God would find me guilty of destroying two perfectly good children.  Funny, all these years later, I don’t remember what I had done – what the kids had done – or anything else concerning the situation of the moment – except the emotions and the wisdom my dear friend imparted.  “Final grades are not given until the education is complete.  You have many more years to go.  You’re years and years away from a final grade.”  At the time it was as though she had given me a drink of sweet water, in the midst of great drought!  LIFE GIVING water.

This past week, the Lord showed me something VITALLY important to other Mums in the throes of child rearing.  He showed me the final grade that He assigned to the father of all fathers – Abraham!  Go to Hebrews 11 with me, if you will.

We call this the Hall of Faith – go ahead, look –  you will find Abraham’s name there several times.  God even accounted Abraham’s faith to him as righteousness – something we have because of the Blood of our Savior Jesus Christ.  If ever there was a man who got an A+ as his final grade, it would be he….

But wait – was it not Abraham who decided that things should be taken into his own hands and did he not father Ishmael?!!  Ishmael – the father of virtually every enemy the Jewish people have ever had!  Despite numerous failures, how does our Lord grade father Abraham?

Every day that you are in the midst of training up your precious wee ones for the Kingdom, you are in a battle.  You may falter, you may even fall down – but if you will persist, seek His face and continue to do things His way, He will grade you the same way He graded Abraham – A+!!

Well done, good and faithful Mama!  🙂  🙂  🙂

(dedicated with love and great appreciation for my Sistah, Mama Jen)  🙂

Comments
6 Responses to “Final Grade”
  1. melanie says:

    Hey Dawn ~ Thinking of you and passing along a blog award…

    http://outofthemiryclay.blogspot.com/2010/10/blogger-fun.html

    ~♥~

  2. javadawn says:

    Thank you my friend!! (Nothing like being oblivious for days on end, eh what?!! Sorry about that!)

  3. WOW, I LOVE this post, THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for writing it and sharing it. I’m going to pass this along too!!

  4. javadawn says:

    🙂 Crystal, my dear, you’re more than welcome. It ministered to me by the bucketful, way back when Karen told me that – but it didn’t impact me nearly as much as when I realized how God sees Abraham. WOWZA.

    • Robin Michelle says:

      That is some excellent meditation meat, Dawn…..how God sees Abraham. WOWZA is right! Gonna’ chew on that a while! 🙂

  5. javadawn says:

    Robin, it’s all the more poignant when we remember all that Ishmael has perpetrated against God’s people, isn’t it? For Abraham to have “failed” so boldly in our eyes and yet to have Father honor Abraham so beautifully – what hope and encouragement that ought to be for the people who love their Lord!!

    The Church, too often has become distracted in Her desire to live wholly for Him, and has focused on legalistic hoops, rather than on His ability and His grace and His Word! The words from Paul ring in my head over and over – they have a form of godliness, but they deny its power. We have no inherent power of our own and when our focus is on ourselves – whether our own good or our own bad – we are denying the power of the Cross and of His Word. May it never be!!!
    (I’m rambling, aren’t I? Sorry.) 😛 😛 😛

    Praying Father encourages your soul as you chew on this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

