Stop in the name of Love! :)

We have a path that goes around one side of our house.  It was not a planned part of our landscape, but it is no less a part of our yard.  The path was created by our dog, Lucy.  She walks the same path day in and day out and by doing so, she has created it.

Our brains are just like my yard – they have a path running through them.  When we think the same things the same way day in and day out (or month in and month out) we create a path in our brains.  Those paths may very well not be a planned part of our thoughts, but they are no less a part of  our thinking.

Many of us know and/or quote from Philippians 3.  In particular, we have a path running to verse 14: I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. But in our running, we seem to run right past the verses that get us there.  Verse 12 and ESPECIALLY verse 13.

Not that I have already obtained it or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus. Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead….

Today, I’m encouraging you to stop and check the path that your thoughts are taking.  Are you focused on the things which lie behind in your life?  They could be the things you’ve already done well, that you use to justify what you’re doing now…or they could be things you did really poorly that you’re using to beat yourself up.  Either way, Dear One, what you’re doing is not in alignment with the Word of our Lord.

If Paul, whose past included horrible crimes against Believers says to us, “…one thing I do…” shouldn’t we sit up and take notice?  Today, when your thoughts are tempted to run in the same dirty path of those things that lie behind, please stop running…stop running and begin a new path for yourself.  Instead of rehashing, choose to forget.  Forget and instead reach forward to what lies ahead. For what lies ahead are the very things that the Jesus Christ laid hold of you for!  What lies ahead is the Kingdom!

Comments
2 Responses to “Stop in the name of Love! :)”
  1. Mary Jo Tate says:

    Excellent thoughts, Dawn! And great analogy with your dog’s path. Have I ever mentioned that you have a way with words? 😉

  2. javadawn says:

    I SMOOCH the top of your wee head, my Dear Friend! 🙂 (Granted, I had to use a step stool – but I do it none the less!) 😀

Leave a Reply

