Good smellin’ stuff

Today is cooking day at my house. Tomorrow we will add the smell of turkey baking, but today we’ll be cooking dessert and sides, all of which means the whole house will be smelling GOOD!

Funny thing about smells, isn’t it…they are incredibly adept at triggering vivid memories!  One whiff of Tabu and I am remembering my Mom when I was little.  While in Chicago a few weeks ago, I was walking through a crowd of people and suddenly all I could think of was my Grandmother.  ???  It took a few seconds before I realized someone in the crowd was wearing her signature cologne.  I can smell cherry pipe tobacco and see pictures of my uncle dancing before my eyes.  Sometimes the smell of cinnamon will make me literally drool.  The power of the nose is a mighty thing.

Then it should be no surprise that God says in 2 Corinthians 2: 14,  “But thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place.”  As you are cooking away and enjoying the fragrances coming from your kitchen, meditate on the idea that the knowledge of Him has a sweet aroma, that is manifested to everyone when we are walking in triumph in Christ Jesus.  How is that for a trippy thought?  Every time we choose to walk in triumph (and we must assume it IS a choice, since Scripture says that God ALWAYS leads us in triumph) we manifest to the world the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him.

So while your home is filled with the sweet aroma of Thanksgiving, pause, breathe in deeply and remember – that’s how YOU smell to others.  As you walk through your life, victorious in Christ, you will smell GOOD!!!

Leave a Reply

