Prodded – big time!

So…I’m reworking this week’s lesson from the “Seek First the Kingdom” Bible study.   It’s about faith.  Easy work, eh?  Just “editing” work, right?

Since this study was the fruit of several years intense training by the Holy Spirit, I’m thinking I’m going to just blow through the lesson, unfazed.  (??? Unfazed by the LIVING WORD OF GOD!???  WHAT was I thinking….)

Then…Matthew 8:13.  Jesus is talking to the centurion and He says, “Go! It shall be done for you as you have believed.” And in the depth of my spirit, I hear that still small voice say, “If it were to be done for you today, as you have believed, what would you receive from Me?”

*GULP* Isn’t it funny how we’re able to deceive ourselves into thinking we’re in obedience to 2 Corinthians 10:15, taking every thought captive, until the Holy Spirit prods us from inside?   Let me tell you, I was prodded!!  I had to stop and really test myself.  (2 Corinthians 13:5!!) “Am I in faith?  Are the things that I am believing in line with the Word of God – or have I allowed myself to believe things that are in contradiction to what my Lord and Master has said?”

Let’s pause for one moment and clarify “believe.”  How do you know what you’re believing?  What thoughts are occupying your brain space?  When you sit down and things are quiet, what thoughts do you allow your mind to “rest” upon?  THAT is what you’re believing.

So, with that definition in mind, I pose the same question to you – “If it were to be done for you today, as you have believed, what would you receive from Father?”

Just for the record, I had to repent.  Just sayin’….that’s all.

Leave a Reply

