Loving the rod!

I DO!  I LOVE my Shepherd’s rod…and His staff.  This morning, Jeff and I were praying together, before we hit the floor running.  As we did, we were meditating Psalm 65.  When we hit verse 11, there was this little twinge….

You crown the year with Your goodness,  and Your paths drip with abundance.

Deep in my heart, the voice of condemnation began….”Yeah, but you only receive His goodness if you walk in His paths. Who do you think you are to think that you would EVAH stick to His paths?  Ten minutes.  I’ll give you ten minutes and you’ll be off on some other path, dorking things up, FER SHUR!”  I sat there…wounded….knowing that voice was right.  I knew I could never stick to the path of my Lord.  I knew I would wander away – I have been known to be a lamb of little brain many a time.

Then…in between the beats of my heart, I heard it – quiet, yet strong…”I am Your Shepherd, you are My sheep.  My rod and My staff – they are intended to comfort you.  With My rod, I protect you from those who come to attack you. With My staff I will draw you back to My path – I will lead you beside the still waters…for I am the Good Shepherd and My sheep know Me.”

Now may the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing His will, and may He work in us what is pleasing to Him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

