A Snickers ain’t gonna cut it!

It’s 4:30 in the afternoon and I’m STARVING.  I don’t mean hungry, I mean STARVING.  Okay, so not quite STARVING – but REALLY REALLY hungry.  I had breakfast and I had lunch, so how in the world could I be this hungry?

Because my time in the Word this morning was cut short.  We had some family time in the Word or I’d be ready to bite someone in half, I fear.  I don’t know what this says about me, but I long for that intimacy in the Word with my Father- nay,  I NEED that time of intimacy in the Word with Father! It strengthens me – it encourages me – it balances me – it empowers me for my day.  On days like this, when I’m lacking time in the Word, I find that all day long, there is a craving for something hanging about my head like a whining mosquito!

But, I know that if I walk into the kitchen, looking around for something to satisfy that craving, I won’t find anything. My soul knows what it is longing for – and no amount of chocolate (did those words side-by-side pass MY fingers?!!!)  😉 will EVER suffice!!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go “eat”.  🙂

(What about you?  How can you tell when you need more time in the Word?)

Leave a Reply

