What can we do?

The other day on my FB page, someone began a discussion about worship.  My thoughts have continued to swirl concerning the topic.  The question burning my lips has become, “Can we ever attain to being women of worship, if we do not spend time in the Word?”

I thought that was the end of the question, but the time in the Word I just hungrily pursued found me in John, chapter 15 to be specific.  As I sat here, slathering myself with its cleansing properties, I found the question turning, like a diamond on a stand, reflecting the light in each of its exquisite facets.

Can we ever attain to being women of faith, when we’re not in the Word?   Where else do we ground our faith?

Can we ever attain to being women of love, when we’re not in the Word?  Where else do we see perfect love modeled?

Can we ever attain to being women of peace, when we’re not in the Word?  Where else do we see peace, so beautifully exemplified?  (Is there anything more powerful than our Lord, asleep in the boat, in the midst of a storm that made veteran fisherman as fearful as children?)

The answer of course is found in the Word itself.

I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.

 

Leave a Reply

