Mining

Picture with me, if you will, a mine.  Mines have one yield.  You aren’t likely to walk into a copper mine in the UP of Michigan and come away with emeralds.  (Unless of course when they turn the lights out in the mine to show you how dark it is, you pop them off your neighbor’s ears.  WAAY different blog!)

To me, God’s Word is like a mine.  I want to get in there and get “dirty” scrubbing off the veins and start shining the light onto what I’m reading. I long to just dig deeper!  I would that I could literally roll in it – cover myself with it from head to toe – and then look again. Every time I come away from being in the Word, I’m astounded and amazed at how deep it is, how rich it is and the fullness of its yield.

Many of us have been convinced that the Word is simply too heavenly minded to do us any earthly good.  We have bought into someone’s lie that the Word is too fragile for us to just get in there and wallow around. (Let alone ask hard questions of it!)  I used that term once for being in the Word – wallow.  I offended the person to whom I was speaking.  She said, “That’s the Word of God you’re dealing with there.” I smiled and said “I know.  It’s SO full of good and wonderful things.  I just want to plumb the depths of it.”  She said, “You don’t WALLOW in the Word of God.”  I said, “Oh yes Darlin’ I do! AND I don’t do it enough!”

YET…because it is a living Word, for those of us that are new to the Word or not quite ready to wallow in it…there is still an amazing harvest to be had.  You don’t need to pull out the lexicon, the Interlinear Bible and four different translations to get jewels from the Word.  Those are the tools of wallowers or folks that have been mining awhile.  The things that they are pulling from the mine are different from those that are digging on the surface – either way, those who seek shall find – and both will bring forth jewels. Precious, precious jewels.

For the mountains may be removed and the hills may shake, BUT My lovingkindness will not be removed from you,  and My covenant of peace will not be shaken,” says the Lord who has compassion on you. “O afflicted one, storm-tossed, and not comforted, behold, I will set your stones in antimony,  and your foundations I will lay in sapphires. Moreover, I will make your battlements of rubies, and your gates of crystal, and your entire wall of precious stones.”

Come on in – wallow with me and let’s see our Lord give us foundations of sapphire, battlements of ruby and walls of precious stones!

Comments
6 Responses to “Mining”
  1. javadawn says:

    Ahhhh, thank you Beth Moore!!!! (from her book, “Stepping Up”)

    “If you’ve concluded that Scripture is for how you do church, teachers like me have failed you. Scripture is for how you do life, whether at home, at work or on a date, at a baby shower, at a funeral, or at church. Scripture is for servicemen defending their nation and for mothers nursing their babies…if they can keep their eyes open.”

    What a spectacularly well phrased assessment!

    • Michelle says:

      Here is a thought….Christ is the Word. When I am reading the Word, it is like being in a relationship with Him. When I neglect the Word, it is like neglecting my relationship with Him.

      When I enter into a relationship with someone, (and for the sake of illustration, let’s use John because isn’t Christ also my Bridegroom?) I am not immediately ready to wallow in him. Ummm…boundaries, anyone? When we first started getting to know each other, we were fascinated with each other but we were just beginning to learn about each other. But as I have spent time with him over the years and gotten to know and trust him more and more, I am not contented with superficial, surface conversations (not that we don’t have them..they happen quite often actually…but it is not the stuff of romance and relationship building). I want to really talk and get to know him and fall in love with him more and more.

      When I first became a Christian, it was all I could do just to figure out the language of the Word. It was all very foreign to me, so a surface reading was all I could manage. But as I have spent time in the Word, getting to know Him more and more, and*** as I have allowed myself to freefall in Him and trust Him in tough times, and as I have personally experienced His faithfulness*** I want more. I want to know Him and fall in love with Him, and dig deeper.

      Now grace covers a multitude of sins and smooths rough places in our relationships with one another. It is quite possible that your lady friend was simply offended because of her deep respect for the Word of God and thought that the word wallow brought images of a pig pen…you have to make allowance for that…but I understand your heart on this issue and so glad you are wiling to share yourself and be a field guide of sorts to me.

      Love you Word Girl! (I hope you get the reference)

  2. javadawn says:

    Well, this would clearly reflect the difference in the maturation between writers. 😀 While you were maintaining boundaries when you first met John, I on the other hand DID want to just wallow in Jeff when I met him. He was the hottest, funniest, most chocolate fudge eyed thing I’d ever met. 😛 😛 (Granted, our first date took place after having just spent the evening with him in make-up and tights – but for theatre folk, that’s not terribly unusual. The first date however….that’s another story for another time. LOL) I couldn’t get enough of him. If I could have figured out how to pass all my college courses and keep my job, while doing nothing but talking with him, I would have. Our first date lasted until 6 am, for crying out loud!! (The first day we met – we spent 6 hrs talking – and it would have been more, if he didn’t have a date that evening. If I would have allowed him to take me home, he’d have stood up his date – and I knew it. So, I played the martyr 😛 and rode the bus, rather than allow him to stand up a date. Sigh…what a gal I was!) 😛 😛

    What?! You didn’t write to discuss dating?!!! OH!! Sorry – digression. 😀

    I DID (and still do) understand my friend’s offense at using the term wallow in conjunction to the Word. She is very (searching…do you hear the whirring noise..for a good word)….safe (maybe careful?) in her relationship with the Lord. Her relationship – or lack thereof? – with Jesus is a very private thing. She doesn’t want to offend anyone by her faith. I offend her often just by being me. 🙂 It’s not intentional, she just finds me entirely too…crass…maybe brash is a better term. DEFINITELY indiscreet. (You just don’t tell people how you love Jesus or that you can’t live without Him or that He sustains you when all else around you fails. That is T.M.I. to the max! I however, think that’s just barely beginning to converse – hence the indiscretion.) I should have been more explicit when I was writing that I wasn’t offended by her words or even her shock. I frequently find myself bemused by her horror at my lack of couth. (That doesn’t sound any better, does it? I’ll just shet mah mowth)

    Field guide to you?!! Girl you jest! We’re just walking together. You have as much experience in the Word as I do.

    As for the reference…though I am loathe to say it, I don’t!! HOWEVER, in my defense I have only had ONE cup of coffee and it was barely warm. I am about to drink cup #2 and I’m sure it will come to me and I’ll feel like a complete dope. 😀 😛 (I don’t know why – but I keep seeing “You’ve got Mail” when I read it. We don’t need to laugh at my pathetic-ness, though, ok?) 😛

    • Michelle says:

      No, actually it is to your credit that you don’t get the reference.

      “Word Girl” is actually the title of a children’s program on PBS (hence it is to your credit that you didn’t recognize it) :o) She was a superhero with the power of vocabulary. My girls, especially Anna loved it. Thankfully, the one good thing about the US gov’t messing up our tv reception is that it has finally broken my girls’ addiction to PBS. I love thinking about you as Word Girl because you are armed with something infinately more powerful than an impressive vocabulary. You are amed with the Word of God!

      “Nothing is of greater threat to the enemy than a believer with the Word of God living and active upon her tongue, readily applied to any situation.” -Beth Moore

  3. Michelle says:

    That should read “armed” not amed, Madame Editor.

  4. javadawn says:

    LOL If it makes you feel any better – I didn’t even notice the amed. 😀

Leave a Reply

