Word wrangling: faith

This morning, Jeff and I are discussing/studying/wallowing in “faith.”

Considering Hebrews 11 – But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

We all desire to please our Lord.  SO, in light of that we MUST understand faith, right?

SO, how do YOU define faith?  (Long, short or somewhere in-between. Of course I’d appreciate Scripture to back what you’re saying – but it’s certainly not required!! )  🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “Word wrangling: faith”
  1. I read this yesterday in Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts. It jumped in my head just as soon as I read your post.

    “Belief in God has to be more than mental assent, more than a cliched exercise in congnitaion. Even the demons believe (James 2:19) What is saving belief if it isn’t the radical dare to wholly trust? I read it in one of the thick commentaries, that two hundred twenty times that word pisteuo is used in the New Testament, most often translated as “belief”. But it changes everything when I read that pisteuo ultimately means “to put one’s faith in; to trust.” Belief is a verb, something that you do. Then truth is that authentic, saving belief must be also? The very real everyday action of trusting. Then true saving faith is a faith that give thanks a faith that sees God, a faith that deeply trusts? ”

    So, I haven’t had time to really dig into this yet. But as I read over this several times, I can’t help but think, Faith is fully trusting God in every situation, no matter what! Short answer to your question would then be, Faith is Trust! Oh so hard!! I want to keep digging on this, but I thought I would post what I was reading/thinking.

  2. javadawn says:

    Amber, Thank you! Since Jeff and I have been discussing this and throwing verses back and forth and one another and just CHEWING it to pieces – so please bear with me if my question seems intense. (I bet that would come as a surprise, huh? Me…being intense. LOL)

    If faith is trust – what are we trusting in?

Leave a Reply

